Post Renal transplant advised for urethral dilatation

65 years female, actually my mother-in-law,who is a post renal transplant patient Chief Complaints She has been suffering from UTI several episodes in last few months Her doctor nephrologist has advised for a urologist opinion on getting a urethral dilatation done On telephonic consultation, urologist advised for a uroflowmetry and refused for a urethral dilatation seeing the report Management Kindly give your valuable opinion on uroflometry as my brother in law and myself are concerned, she is far away from me too, whether urethral dilatation is needed or not I am not good at reading uroflometry report too, if someone can teach me too😊😊

LikeAnswersShare

Dear dr Ajeet Pal Singh Uroflomatery do not show any obstruction as p/sec exertion approximately 20ml Recurrent UTI is a common complication in renal transplants as pt is on immunosuppressants catches infection secondaly she has one kidney only so total excretion is lesser At the most you can go for cystoscopy And sr creatinine

Thanx dr Kute Ankush

View 2 other replies

Uroflometry shows normal maximum for rate but below par average flow rate Decrease contractility of bladder muscle is one of the crucial cause of recurrent urinary tract infection, decreased average flow rate points to the same Adv For prevention of recurrent urinary tract infection 1) Tablet Bethanechol one tablet three times a day (avoid in case of asthma) 2) Tablet cranpac D (cranberry juice extract) one tablet three times a day 3) Strict control of blood sugar with insulin This will help in preventing recurrent urinary tract infection After starting Bethanechol , you can repeat uroflometry to look for improvement in shape for rate