Severe Vit D deficiency with Vit B12 deficiency and IDA

A 31 year female, teacher by profession reported to OPD after getting her several tests done Chief Complaints She complaints of generalised body ache and weakness whole day while at school and feel like sleeping, even after a good night sleep for last 2 months Vitals Vitals are wnl Investigations Hb - 11.1 Serum 25(OH) D - 5.56 Vit B12 - 134 TSAT - 9 % (Low) TIBC - High S. Iron - Low MCV is mildly low, and RDW is mild high So as per CBC and Iron studies she is into Iron deficiency anemia too Management As she was not willing for optineuron infusion IV for next 5 days, due to IV cannula being visible while at school, so I advised her - Inj Arachitol 6L unit Deep IM once weekly for 4 weeks, Inj Vitcofol C IM once daily for next 3 days, Tab Orofer XT total at bedtime, Tab Zinconia 50mg OD, Tab Limcee 500mg BD Kindly give me your valuable opinion on this case

4 Likes

LikeAnswersShare

Your plan of supplementing iron and B 12 in view of deficiency of iron and B 12 is absolutely correct The choice of medication is also correct There may be variation in choice of medication and duration from one doctor to another doctor, none the less over all plan is very good Please update progress after 4 weeks

Thank you doctor

View 1 other reply

Though your line of treatment is fine but you should focus on the counselling of such types of patients to stick with the advice given by you from time to time as she may again get into the same problem again if she discontinued the management plan as advised by you.

Thank you doctor

View 1 other reply

Apart from treatment given.. also tryto find out the cause of dimorphic anaemia. Is it nutritional? Rule out malabsorption.. and bleeding diathesis... Go for.. stool obt for 3 days Also.. folic acid assay.. And add. Folate supplement