Uncontrolled T2DM with Hypothyroidism(Anti TPO+ve)

A 35 year old female housewife by profession and diabetic for last 12 years Chief Complaints Known case of T2DM and hypothyroidism (112 mcg Levothyroxine) for last several years presented to OPD with uncontrolled sugars and problem of paraesthesia foot History Before visting me she was already on voglinorm GM 2 forte in the morning and Empagliflozin/Linagliptin 25/5 once daily Vitals BS was 280 mg/dl RBS was to the tune of 300 and 350 mg/dl Investigations Anti TPO >1300 C - Peptide Stimulated/Post Prandial - 3.9 HBA1C - 8.2 As sugars were not getting controlled, I asked her for a C- peptide, but its coming normal too Management I initially started her on - FIRST VISIT Gliclazide 60 mg XR + metformin 500 mg BD dapagliflozin 10 mg OD Follow up visit - SECOND VISIT (Similar sugars again 300+) Gliclazide 60 mg XR + metformin 500 mg 2tabs morning and 1 tab evening Dapagliflozin 10mg Follow up visit - THIRD VISIT( Similar sugars again 300+) When she visited me yesterday with report of anti-tpo and c-peptide still her sugar uncontrolled to the tune of fasting and random similarly around 350 I have changed the medicines to gluconorm G 4 forte twice daily and Pioz 15mg once-daily and Voglibose 0.3 thrice daily for a week. Counseling for insulins was done right from the first visit My concern is which insulin to start her on, Ryzodeg or Lantus/Degludec?

2 Likes

LikeAnswersShare

She has beta cell apoptosis bcz of sulfonilureas So better shift on insulin I will prefer basal bolus insulin with monitoring and titration of units Orally i will prefer to continue dapagliflozin+metformin 10+1000 mg +vildagliptin 50mg Anti TPO are raised suggestive of thyroditis hence treat it To bring the hba1c in control keep regular monitoring and followup But diet control Weight and obesity management

Valuable opinion

View 1 other reply